Seven months after it launched in Mexico, XPeng has a charging partner. In a release dated Ciudad de México, Oct. 22, 2026, XPeng Inc. announced a strategic alliance with Electronity, a charging network operated by Drivewatt México. The two companies will work on a co-branded network called the "Red de Carga XPENG | Electronity."
Everything in the announcement is still a plan. The release gives targets of about 30 fast chargers by the close of 2026 and growth of about 70 more charging points by the end of 2027. The release does not include a site list, power ratings or opening dates for specific locations, and ChargerFeed found none in the sources it read as of Oct. 26, 2026.
The numbers, and what they don't say yet
Here is the timeline as XPeng's release describes it. It was reproduced by the Mexican outlets MNI Noticias and Transporte Informativo:
- By end of 2026: about 30 fast chargers (planned)
- By end of 2027: about 70 additional charging points (planned)
- Implied total: about 100 charging points by end-2027 (ChargerFeed's sum of the two release figures)
Two caveats matter for anyone trying to size this network.
First, the wording changes between the two phases. The 2026 target is described as fast chargers (cargadores rápidos). The 2027 figure is described more generally as charging points (puntos de carga), and the release does not say whether those will also be DC fast chargers.
Second, both figures are approximations. The release text as reproduced in Mexico uses "approximately" (aproximadamente) for the 2026 figure and "around" (alrededor de) for the 2027 growth. Taken together, they point to a planned total of roughly 100 points, but the release does not state that total itself.
The release also does not say how many of these will be new installations and how many are existing Electronity sites rebranded under the joint name. It gives no figures for Electronity's current network size.
What XPeng owners get
The most concrete part of the deal is a discount. According to the release, current and new XPeng owners get 10% off charging for one year at participating Electronity stations. The release does not state Electronity's base per-kWh or per-minute rates, so the discount can't be turned into a peso figure. It also doesn't say which stations count as "participating," or when the one-year period starts for each owner.
Two other items are in the announcement:
- Charging accessories at dealers. Authorized XPeng dealers will sell charging accessories for electric vehicles, and the release says these will be available to the general public, with no need to own an XPeng. It does not list specific products or prices.
- Possible map integration. The companies say Electronity's station map may be integrated into XPeng's digital platforms, subject to technical evaluation. That is a possibility the release flags, not a commitment.
Why XPeng needs this
XPeng launched in Mexico in March 2026. Its official launch release, dated March 25, 2026, introduced two SUVs, the G6 and the G9. Both are built on an 800-volt silicon-carbide (SiC) platform, and XPeng describes them as featuring 5C ultra-fast charging technology. Launch prices in that release included MXN 799,900 for the G6 Long Range (RWD) and MXN 1,099,900 for the G9 Long Range RWD (XPeng Mexico, March 25, 2026). The release said XPeng had selected dealer groups for sales and service in Mexico City, Guadalajara and Monterrey, with the first dealers expected to open on April 6.
The fast-charging capability XPeng advertises depends on chargers that can deliver high power. The new announcement does not say what power levels the Red de Carga XPENG | Electronity sites will offer. Until kW ratings are published, owners can't tell how much of the G6 and G9's rated charging speed they will actually get at these stations.
What It Means for Drivers
If you own an XPeng in Mexico, or buy one: under the Oct. 22 release, you are eligible for 10% off at participating Electronity stations for one year. Check with XPeng or Electronity which stations take part and how to activate the discount. The release does not explain enrollment.
If you drive another EV brand: the release describes the discount as an XPeng-owner benefit. It does not say whether the co-branded stations will be restricted to XPeng vehicles, and nothing in the sources we read indicates they will be. The accessories sold at XPeng dealers are explicitly open to the general public.
Timing: the release gives no opening dates for specific sites. The first milestone is about 30 fast chargers by the end of 2026, with the rest following through 2027. Locations have not been disclosed in the release, so drivers in Mexico City, Guadalajara, Monterrey or elsewhere can't yet plan around specific sites.
What to watch for: a published site list, per-site kW ratings, Electronity's per-kWh pricing (the base the 10% applies to), and whether the station map ends up inside XPeng's app. If you are buying a charging accessory from a dealer, follow the manufacturer's instructions and use a qualified professional for any installation.
A note on sourcing
ChargerFeed read XPeng's Oct. 22 release as reproduced by MNI Noticias and Transporte Informativo. We could not find the original on xpeng.com. Both reproductions carry the same figures. The trade outlet electrive also reported on the plan, but its page was blocked when we tried to read it, so nothing in this article relies on it.
Sources
- XPENG reafirma su compromiso con México a través de una alianza estratégica con Electronity (XPeng release via mirror, MNI Noticias, Oct. 22, 2026)
- XPENG reafirma su compromiso con México… alianza estratégica con Electronity (XPeng release via mirror, Transporte Informativo, dated Oct. 22, 2026)
- XPENG llega a México con sus SUVs G6 y G9 (XPeng Mexico, March 25, 2026)